Associate (AssocRICS)

The RICS Associate qualification recognises the skills of individuals with relevant work experience and vocational qualifications.

Learn more about the assessment process for AssocRICS

Chartered (MRICS)

Chartered status (MRICS) is our main qualification. MRICS demonstrates that RICS-qualified professionals have a chartered qualification and work to the highest industry standards.

We recognise that a mix of academic and professional qualifications with relevant experience provide the skills and levels of competence to become an RICS-qualified professional. There are four standard assessments which lead to MRICS;

Assessment of Professional Competence (APC)

The APC ensures candidates are competent and meet the high standards of professionalism required to become a chartered surveyor. Candidates must achieve a set of requirements and competencies which are a mix of technical and professional practice, interpersonal, business and management skills.

Find out more

Senior Professional Assessment (SPA)

The SPA is available to those with leadership and management responsibilities who are recognised for their impact and career progression. Candidates must be able to demonstrate advanced responsibilities as a leader and manager, referencing elements of their career and contributions to the profession that identify them as a senior professional.

Find out more

Specialist Assessment

This is for individuals who are delivering enhanced services within an RICS discipline and who are recognised for their impact and authority. Candidates must be able to demonstrate responsibility for delivering services in a specialist area of work, referencing elements of their career and contribution to the profession that identify the candidate as a specialist practitioner.

Find out more

Academic Assessment

A bespoke route for academics who have undertaken surveying-related teaching and research activities over a minimum period of three years.

RICS professionals work on a broad range of areas and fields of expertise. Each field requires its own set of skills, knowledge, experience and competence to ensure professionals are qualified to perform at the highest levels of achievement. RICS competencies are presented in a generic way so they can be applied to different areas of practice and geographical locations. Competencies are designed in three levels of attainment:

Level 1 – knowledge and understanding
Level 2 – application of knowledge and understanding
Level 3 – reasoned advice and depth of knowledge.

It is important that candidates interpret them within the context of their own area of practice or specialism and location. The contextualisation of the competencies for each candidates’ area of practice as well as examples of the likely skills, knowledge and experience required to demonstrate the competencies are set out in the individual pathway guides.

All candidates must provide a summary of experience against the competency requirements for their pathway, at least one case study, CPD record and successful completion of the RICS ethics module before attending a final assessment interview with a panel of RICS-qualified assessors. The one-hour interview includes a 10-minute presentation from the candidate and questions from the panel on the candidate’s written submission. 

Find out more

Fellowship (FRICS)

As well as demonstrating significant career achievements and successes, Fellowship demonstrates a passion for developing the industry, sharing knowledge and supporting others to reach their goals. Fewer than 20% RICS-qualified professionals have fellowship status.

Find out more